The Ph.D. Programme in Molecular and Experimental Medicine (MEM) aims to address some of the main challenges of life sciences in a highly competitive scientific research environment.

This 3-year international programme provides advanced training in various fields of life sciences and molecular medicine.

Proposed research topics are listed below, grouped by Laboratory:

Go back to the MEM PhD programme page for information about admission:

Laboratory name

Project title

Pre-clinical Supervisor

Details

Mucosal Immunology and Microbiota Unit

“Use of superadsorbent hydrogels to protect the intestinal barrier to prevent or treat disorders in the gut-liver axis”

Prof. Maria Rescigno,

maria.rescigno@hunimed.eu

Click here for all the details

Cardiovascular Department

“Therapeutic impact of autophagy activation on cardiac remodeling and cardiovascular damage after acute myocardial ischemia”

Giulio Stefanini,

giulio.stefanini@hunimed.eu

Click here for all the details

Laboratory of experimental immunopathology

1. Project title

“Exploring the role of neutrophils and unconventional T cells in antitumor immunity”

2. Project title

Development of a novel checkpoint molecule of lymphoid cells in cancer

1. Jaillon Sebastien, sebastien.jaillon@hunimed.eu

2. Cecilia Garlanda, cecilia.garlanda@hunimed.eu

  1.  Click here for all the details
  2. Click here for all the details

Laboratory of leukocyte biology

1. Project title

“Role of the atypical chemokine receptor ACKR2 in colon cancer metastasis”

2. Project title

“Role of the ACKR2 in the trafficking and activation of anti-metastatic innate immunity”

Raffaella Bonecchi, raffaella.bonecchi@hunimed.eu
  1. Click here for all the details
  2. Click here for all the details

Personalized Medicine, Asthma and Allergy

“Electronic referral based HUB & SPOKE newtwork model for the management of severe asthma” Clinical Supervisor: Francesca Puggioni, francesca.puggioni@humanitas.it
Pre-clinical Supervisor: Enrico Marco Heffler, enrico.heffler@hunimed.eu
Click here for all the details

Department Hepatobiliary and General Surgery

1. Project title

“Development of a new diagnostic tool based on tumor-associated macrophages to refine the prognosis of patients undergoing hepatic resection for colorectal liver metastases: a prospective study”

2. Project title

“At the borders between immune tolerance: disclosing the mechanisms boosting the expansion of auto-reactive Natural Killer cells in Primary Biliary Cholangitis”

1. Clinical Supervisor: Matteo Donadon, matteo.donadon@hunimed.eu
Pre-clinical Supervisor: Ana Lleo De Nalda, ana.lleo@hunimed.eu
2. Clinical Supervisor: Matteo Donadon, matteo.donadon@hunimed.eu
Pre-clinical Supervisor: Stefania Vetrano, stefania.vetrano@hunimed.eu
  1. Click here for all the details
  2. Click here for all the details

Human Genome and Biomedical Technologies

“Dissecting the neglected link between RANKL cytokine and stemness features with high relevance in osteoporosis” Pre-clinical Supervisor: Dr Cristina Sobacchi, cristina.sobacchi@humanitasresearch.it
Laboratory name: Human Genome and Biomedical Technologies
Click here for all the details

Transcription and Chromatin

1. Project title

“An integrative genomic approach to understand the transcriptional bases of intratumoral heterogeneity in human PDACs”

2. Project title

“Characterization of transcriptional and epigenetic regulators of macrophage activation.”

1. Pre-clinical Supervisor: Gioacchino Natoli, gioacchino.natoli@hunimed.eu
2. Pre-clinical Supervisor: Gioacchino Natoli, gioacchino.natoli@hunimed.eu
  1. Click here for all the details
  2. Click here for all the details

Medical Oncology Unit

“Prospective and comprehensive analysis of circulating and infiltrating leukocyte subsets in patients with diffuse malignant gliomas” Pre-clinical Supervisor: Raffaella Bonecchi, raffaella.bonecchi@hunimed.eu
Clinical Supervisor: Matteo Simonelli, matteo.simonelli@cancercenter.humanitas.it
Click here for all the details

Pharmacology and Brain Pathology

1. Project title

“Role of the SNARE protein, SNAP25, and PTX3 in aging”

2. Project title

“Role of the microglial phagocytosis and autophagy in neuroprotection”

  1. Pre-clinical Supervisor: Elisabetta Menna, elisabetta.menna@humanitasresearch.it

2. Pre-clinical Supervisor: Michela Matteoli, michela.matteoli@hunimed.eu

  1. Click here for all the details
  2. Click here for all the details

Medical Genetics and RNA Biology

1. Project title

“Liquid biopsy of semen for early detection and characterization of prostate cancer”

2. Project title

“Molecular and cellular mechanism modulating GBA mutation penetrance in Parkinson’s disease”

  1. Pre-clinical Supervisor: Giulia Soldà, giulia.solda@hunimed.eu

2. Pre-clinical Supervisor: Stefano Duga, stefano.duga@hunimed.eu

  1. Click here for all the details
  2. Click here for all the details

Medical Oncology and Hematology

“Analysis of combined assessment of metabolic radiomics pattern in [18]F-FDG-PET/CT, Immunogenic Cell Death induction and microbiota in the prediction of response to neoadjuvant chemotherapy in breast cancer patients: a proof-of-concept study” Pre-clinical Supervisor: Maria Rescigno, maria.rescigno@hunimed.eu
Clinical Supervisor: Armando Santoro, armando.santoro@cancercenter.humanitas.it
Click here for all details

Laboratory of Gastrointestinal Immunopathology

“The impact of the diet in modulating IBD and CRC development” Pre-clinical Supervisor: Stefania Vetrano, stefania.vetrano@hunimed.eu Click here for all the details

Laboratory of Immunopharmacology

1. Project title

“Characterization of the biochemical and biological properties of a novel molecule associated to M2 polarization of macrophages”

2. Project title

“Role of molecules associated to M2 polarization of macrophages in cancer progression”

Pre-clinical Supervisor: Barbara Bottazzi, barbara.bottazzi@humanitasresearch.it
  1. Click here for all the details
  2. Click here for all the details

Tumor Microenvironment Unit

1. Project title

“Investigation of the immune-associated mechanisms that modulate response to therapy in prostatic cancer”

2. Project title

“Investigation of the mechanisms that drive the re-education of the innate immune response in in advanced prostate cancer”

Pre-clinical Supervisor: Diletta Di Mitri, diletta.di_mitri@humanitasresearch.it
  1. Click here for all the details
  2. Click here for all the details

Regenerative Orthopedics

“Role of the adipokine visfatin in inflammation and metabolic syndromes” Pre-clinical Supervisor: Antonio Sica, antonio.sica@humanitasresearch.it
Clinical Supervisor: Elizaveta Kon, elizaveta.kon@humanitas.it
Click here for all the details

Lab of Translational Immunology

“Cellular immune responses against human cancer” Pre-clinical Supervisor: Enrico Lugli, enrico.lugli@humanitasresearch.it Click here for all the details

Pathogenesis and therapy of Immune mediated neuropathies

“Anti-nerve reactivity as predictor of response to immune therapy in patients with chronic inflammatory demyelinating polyradiculoneuropathy (CIDP): A proof of concept study with rituximab in patients with CIDP not responding to conventional immune therapy” Pre-clinical Supervisor: Michela Matteoli, michela.matteoli@hunimed.eu
Clinical Supervisor: Eduardo Nobile-Orazio, eduardo.nobile_orazio@humanitas.it
Click here for all the details

Adaptive Immunity Laboratory

“The unexpected roles of T cells in pathology as a key to improved therapy” Pre-clinical Supervisor: Marinos Kallikourdis, marinos.kallikourdis@hunimed.eu Click here for all the details
HUMANITAS GROUP

Humanitas is a highly specialized Hospital, Research and Teaching Center. Built around centers for the prevention and treatment of cancer, cardiovascular, neurological and orthopedic disease – together with an Ophthalmic Center and a Fertility Center – Humanitas also operates a highly specialised Emergency Department.